Bootsie Marie


When I was about seven or eight years old, my older sister by two years had a funky pair of embroidered navy, zip-up, knee-high boots. I wanted a pair-bad. But I have the unfortunate luck of having two skinny raccoon feet. The toes are great for grasping tree branches, but skinny feet suck when you need to buy shoes. It’s hard to find my size. Add to that my slender legs, and it’s impossible to find knee-high boots.

Until yesterday.

Imagine my elation when I found not one, but two pairs of boots that fit…for the first time in my life. Naturally, I bought them both. This was, after all, a once-in-a-lifetime occurrence. Just call me Bootsie Marie.

YIIIIIIIPEEEEE!

And so in honor of my beautiful new footwear:

A short, sweet Haiku for Thursday’s Poet’s Rally

I cannot describe

the excitement of finding

the perfect black boot!

 


 

Be still my heart!

©2010 frayedges and http://www.frayedges.wordpress.com

Yes, I know the post is a day early, but this could not wait!


63 responses to “Bootsie Marie

Leave a Reply

